The Inter-league competition features all 14 NWSL clubs, top six LIGA MX Femenil teams from 2023; Wave FC to join Group B alongside Bay FC, Angel City FC and Club América

SAN DIEGO (March 20, 2024) – San Diego Wave FC and the National Women’s Soccer League today announced the club will take part in the first-ever NWSL x LIGA MX Femenil Summer Cup. The tournament will feature all 14 NWSL clubs and the top six teams in LIGA MX Femenil Clausura and Apertura during 2023, including Tigres UANL, Club América, Chivas de Guadalajara, Rayadas de Monterrey, Pachuca and Tijuana.

The Wave will kick off the tournament on Saturday, July 20 against Bay FC at 7:00 p.m. PT at Torero Stadium. San Diego will continue the group stage on Friday, July 26, hosting Club América at Snapdragon stadium at 7:00pm PT. The Wave’s group stage will round out on Thursday, August 1 with a match against Angel City FC at Titan Stadium at 7:00 p.m. PT.

Additional information regarding tickets for the Wave’s home matches will be provided at a later date. Season ticket members will be receiving tickets in their account at a later date for the club’s home match against Club América and will receive first priority access in an exclusive presale for the match on July 20.

The full tournament will consist of 30 group stage contests, followed by a four-team semifinal round slated for the week of August 4. The championship match will take place the weekend of October 25-27. Broadcast details, playoff schedule details and competition rules will be announced in the coming weeks.   

NWSL x LIGA MX Femenil Summer Cup will feature five groups, including four groups of three NWSL clubs and one LIGA MX Femenil club, and one group with two clubs from each league. Each participating club will compete in a minimum of three matches.  

“Today’s announcement marks a historic milestone for women’s soccer in North America and another significant step in the continued elevation of our global game,” said NWSL Commissioner Jessica Berman. “We’re excited to partner with LIGA MX Femenil to create additional competitive opportunities for our athletes, unlock new rivalries, tap into our collective fanbases and continue our shared mission of raising the value, visibility and global standard of our sport.”  

“The alliance we are announcing today is a great achievement for women’s football in our region and around the world – two great women’s professional football leagues coming together to advance the sport in our area, expand and grow the industry, build a new sporting identity and rivalry, strengthen partnerships beyond the pitch, inspire more people to join the movement, build community and open up new opportunities for players to have new windows of internationalization,” said LIGA MX Femenil Director Mariana Gutierrez. “LIGA MX Femenil is proud and privileged to work together with the NWSL. Let us celebrate that this is a historic moment for women and sport.”

SAN DIEGO WAVE’S LIGA MX Femenil Summer Cup Group Stage Schedule



Saturday, July 20 San Diego Wave FC vs. Bay FC Torero Stadium 7 p.m.
Friday, July 26 San Diego Wave FC vs. Club América Snapdragon Stadium 7 p.m.
Thursday, August 1 Angel City FC vs. San Diego Wave FC Titan Stadium 7 p.m.

  Find the full tournament schedule and more information here

Group Format 

Group A 

  •   Portland Thorns FC 
  •   Seattle Reign FC 
  •   Utah Royals FC 
  •   Tijuana 

Group B 

  •   Angel City FC 
  •   San Diego Wave FC 
  •   Bay FC 
  •   Club América 

Group C 

  •   Kansas City Current 
  •   Houston Dash 
  •   Tigres UANL 
  •   Pachuca 

Group D 

  •   NJ/NY Gotham FC  
  •   Washington Spirit 
  •   Chicago Red Stars 
  •   Chivas de Guadalajara 

Group E 

  •   Orlando Pride 
  •   North Carolina Courage 
  •   Racing Louisville FC 
  •   Rayadas de Monterrey 


About NWSL 

The National Women’s Soccer League is the premier women’s professional soccer league in the world featuring national team players from around the globe. The clubs are Angel City FC, Bay FC, Boston, Chicago Red Stars, Houston Dash, Kansas City Current, NJ/NY Gotham FC, North Carolina Courage, Orlando Pride, Portland Thorns FC, Racing Louisville FC, San Diego Wave FC, Seattle Reign FC, Utah Royals FC, and Washington Spirit.  


About LIGA MX Femenil 

LIGA MX Femenil is the women’s professional football league in Mexico that started its history in 2017 and is made up by 18 Clubs with different venues around the country. It plays two tournaments per year: Apertura and Clausura, plus a Champions match at the end of each season. The headquarters of the organization are located in Toluca, State of Mexico, in the facilities of the Mexican Football Federation. 

In its almost seven years of history, LIGA MX Femenil has achieved audience and attendance records such as the Apertura 2023 second leg Final between Tigres UANL vs. América, which was the most watched in history with a reach of 3.9 million viewers, or the attendance record set for a Final with 58,156 fans at an América vs. Pachuca match. For more information